2020 Meetings

    Programming for the Division of Biochemical Technology (BIOT)
    259th ACS National Meeting
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, March 22 - March 26, 2020


    Planning is now underway. If you have thoughts on how we can improve the meeting, please let us know 


    Program Chairs

    Mark Blenner - Clemson University
    Venkatesh Natarajan - Amgen


    ACS 2020 Meeting Links

    BIOT Call for Abstracts (Opens on August 12, 2019)

    Submit an Abstract (Closes on October 21, 2019 - no additional extensions)

    BIOT Meeting Program Book (pdf)

    Directly navigate the BIOT Program here.

    BIOT Meeting Abstracts (pdf)

    BIOT Program Grid (pdf)




    BIOT Meeting Location:
    To Be Announced. 


    Reserve your hotel room on the ACS Website: Not Yet Available


    For Student Presenters

    W.H. Peterson Award - Applications due 3/01/2020 (not open)
    BIOT Student Travel Subsidy - Applications due 12/1/2019 (not open)


    For Young (35 and Under) Professional

    Young Professionals Award in Upstream and Downstream Processing (sponsored by 3M)

    Applications due 3/01/2020


    2020 Keynote Speakers by Area

    Upstream Processes: Maciek Antoniewicz (Michigan)
    Downstream Processes: Hanne Bak (Regeneron)
    Biomolecular Technologies: Lori Burton (BMS)
    Biomedical Technologies: Krish Roy (Georgia Tech)
    End-to-End Biomanufacturing: Susan Abu Absi (Bluebird) 
    BIOT Interfaces: Deb Marks (Harvard); Shohei Koide (NYU)


     2020 Invited Speakers by Area

    Upstream Processes: Lydia Contreras (Texas); Gregg Nyberg (Merck); Amanda Lewis (BMS)
    Downstream Processes: Judy Chou (Bayer); Giorgio Carta (Virginia)
    Biomolecular Technologies: Millicent Sullivan (Delaware); Ben Hackel (Minnesota)
    Biomedical Technologies: Andrew Raneimier (Sangramo); TBD
    End-to-End Biomanufacturing: Sarah Harcum (Clemson); Weichang Zhou (WuXi) 
    BIOT Interfaces: Samira Azarin (Minnesota); Jennifer Maynard (Texas); Pamela Silver (Harvard); Jordi Mata-Fink (Flagship Pioneering); John Warner (Warner Babcock Institute)


    2020 Award Winners and Lectures

    David Perlman Memorial Lectureship (sponsored by Bristol-Myers Squibb)


    Marvin J. Johnson Award in Microbial and Biochemical Technology (sponsored by Pfizer, Inc.)


    EV Murphree Award
    Hariklia Deligianni, IBM Research


    Alan Michaels Award


    BIOT Young Investigator Award (sponsored by Genentech, Inc.)


    James M. Van Lanen Distinguished Service Award 


    Biotechnology & Bioengineering Gaden Award Lecture 


    Biotechnology & Bioengineering D.I.C. Daniel Wang Young Investigator Award 


    SBE/AIChE/ACS BIOT D.I.C. Daniel Wang Award


    3M Young Professional Award in Upstream and Downstream Processing


    W.H. Peterson Best Student Oral Presentation at 2019 National Meeting


    W.H. Peterson Best Student Poster Presentation at 2018 National Meeting



    2020 Program Areas (Area Coordinators)

    Upstream Processes: Nitya Jacob (Amgen), Michelle O'Malley (UCSB), Kevin Solomon (Purdue)
    Downstream Processes: Aaron Noyes (Codiak), John Pieracci (Biogen), Jennifer Pollard (Merck)
    Biomolecular Technologies: Mary Krause (BMS), Greg Thurber (Michigan)
    Biomedical Technologies: John Kim (Alabama), Jonathan Royce (Vironova), Nooshie Sanaie (Kite Pharma)
    End-to-End Biomanufacturing: Caryn Heldt (Michigan Tech), Henry Lin (Merck), Bruno Marques (GSK)
    BIOT Interfaces: Ben Hackel (Minnesota), David Roush (Merck), Danielle Tullman-Ercek (Northwestern)
    BIOT Tank: Nigel Reuel (Iowa St.), Varnika Roy (GSK), Ganesh Sriram (Maryland)
    BIOT Poster Session: Tom Mansell (Iowa St.), Krunal Mehta (Amgen)
    BIOT Rapid Fires: Nanette Boyle (Colorado School of Mines), Chris Gillespie (Immunogen)


    BIOT Links

    BIOT History
    BIOT Awards History
    BIOT Division Site